Monday, August 8, 2011

Saraswati temples

Saraswati is the Goddess of learning, knowledge, and wisdom. The Sanskrit
word sara means "essence" and swa means "self." Thus Saraswati means
"the essence of the self”.

Saraswati is worshipped as the consort of Brahma the creator. Legend has it
that Brahma the creator acquired the power to think and create only through
the power of Saraswati and that it was Saraswati that enabled Brahma to
listen to the “naadabhrahmam” the primordial sound which is revered as the
source of all creation.
Saraswati also celebrated or followed in different forms or names by other countries such as China, Japan, Thailand and Burma.There are not many temples exclusively for Goddess Saraswati. Notable temples dedicated to Goddess Saraswati are:

1. Saraswati Temple, Pushkar, Rajasthan
2. Saraswati Ambal temple, Koothanur, Thanjavur, Tamilnadu
3. Basar Saraswati temple, Adilabad, Andhrapradesh
4. Wargal Saraswati temple, Medak, Andhrapradesh
5. Shri Saraswathi Skshtramu, Ananthasagar, Medak, Andhrapradesh
6. Saraswati temple, North Paruvur, Kerala
7. Sharadamba temple, Shrinegri, Chikmagalur district, Karnataka
8. Maha Saraswati temple, Krall, Ramban, Jammu and Kashmir
9. Saraswati temple, Bali, Indonesia

The oldest Saraswati temple is in Pakistan Occupied Kashmir near Muzzafarabad but it's in very bad condition.

No comments:

Post a Comment